Part-Time Education & Training

<< Back to the course list

Monday:
Creative Writing Beginners

Introduction

Course Name: Creative writing for beginners

Course Overview: This course will cover fiction, poetry and memoir and is specifically geared for those who are just starting to write. 

Course Outline:

Examples of work by published writers will be available, which will be used as a basis for writing exercises each week. We will also look at metaphors, simile, characterisation, how to get started, how to avoid cliche, how to finish a story or poem etc.

At the first class the tutor will ask all class members if there are any specific areas of creative writing they would like to see covered over the course of the ten weeks and will make participants own ideas/questions an integral part of the programme. If participants have stories or poems they have already written and would like feedback on, they are encouraged to bring them to class.

The combination of flexible writing exercises each week and gentle feedback from the tutor and fellow class members will help each participant begin to find their own writing voice.

Award: Certificate of Attendance (on request). Pleaes email: gtiadulted@gretb.ie

Fees
Course fee120.00
Total€120.00
Classes
Monday 02/10/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 09/10/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 16/10/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 23/10/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 06/11/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 13/11/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 20/11/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 27/11/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 04/12/201719:00 - 21:00
Monday 11/12/201719:00 - 21:00